IBPSA Webinar Session-6: Opportunities & Pitfalls of Using Building Performance Simulation in Explorative R&D contexts

Host:

IBPSA

Online

May 21, 2019

Please register for IBPSA Webinar 2019 Session-6: Opportunities and pitfalls of using Building Performance Simulation in explorative R&D contexts

Date & Time: Tuesday, May 21, 2019, 13h30 UTC, 15h30 CEST (EU) 19h00 IST (India), 06h30 PDT/PST (Pacific time USA)

Register: https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/478920175551601676​

One of the promising use cases of building performance simulation (BPS) is its role as a virtual laboratory in research and development (R&D) projects that aim to bring innovative building components from an initial idea towards market introduction. This webinar will highlight opportunities and potential pitfalls of the use of BPS in this application domain. First, the characteristic properties of exploration-driven R&D projects are contrasted with more conventional BPS projects using a systematic requirement engineering approach. Then, the process and outcomes of three R&D projects of innovative façade systems are discussed. Finally, the lessons learned from these studies will be summarized.

Roel Loonen is an Assistant Professor at the Unit Building Physics and Services, Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherlands. His research and teaching focus on the development and application of modeling and simulation strategies to provide decision support for designing buildings that combine high indoor quality with low or no impact on the environment. Roel collaborates with SMEs in various R&D projects, aspiring to accelerate the process of bringing innovative building envelope technologies and renewable energy systems to the market.