President's Message - July 2018: Plaques for Our Heroes

Plaques for Our Heroes

IBPSA-USA was late entering the awards game. The first plaques were presented in 2004 to Fred Winkelman and Dan Nall at the SimBuild conference in Boulder, Colorado. Since that ceremony, their peers in excellence have been recognized every two years at SimBuild gatherings. The first awards recognized outstanding achievement and outstanding practice. In 2014 a new award recognized an emerging contributor, Holly Samuelson. Then in 2016 an outstanding service award was added, and Jason Glazer was the first recipient. The full list of past winners is here.

A total of seventeen plaques have been presented so far. But there are clearly many more than seventeen people who deserve our collective recognition, and you can help solve that problem by making a nomination. In 2018, for the first time, nominations are being solicited from all members. In the past, award candidates were identified by a committee of IBPSA-USA board members. 

The nomination process is simple; find the instructions here. The deadline for nominations is August 1. Recipients will be announced at the Building Performance Analysis Conference and SimBuild, happening in Chicago September 26 through 28. 

There are four award categories, so you’re bound to know someone who deserves a nomination.

  • Distinguished Achievement 
  • Outstanding Practice 
  • Emerging Contributor 
  • Outstanding Service 

I would like to thank members of the IBPSA-USA Awards Committee, Larry Degelman, Annie Marston and Dru Crawley, for their work in setting up this new awards process. 

Happy nominating!


Erik Kolderup
Board of Directors, President, IBPSA-USA